When I remove a user from a course, what happens to their progress in that course?
If you remove a user from a course, he/she will no longer have access to that course. However, their progress and history in that course will still be stored. So, if you later re-enroll them to that course, they can pick up right where they left off. You can also clear their course history if you want them to start from the beginning.